Union Network International (UNI) which is the largest trade union body in the world with a membership of more than 16 Crore workers and professional in more than 600 affiliated Unions/Associations including ARTEE has established its Liason council in India. Mr. Joseph De Bruyn, President, Asia-Pacific Regional Office (APRO-UNI) of UNI has inaugurated the Indian Liason Council of UNI (UNI-ILC) at Citizen Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai on 1st October 2003. Mr. Christopher Ng, Secretary, Apro-UNI was the chief Guest. Representatives from 14 out of 26 affiliated unions from India participated in the inaugural meeting. Mr.Anilkumar (GS), Mr. Milind Joshi (VP-WZ) and Mr. Deepak (JS-WZ) represented ARTEE in this meeting.
The meeting discussed in detail on the various issues facing the unions/associations in India. Delegates expressed serious concern on the recent verdict of the Supreme Court of India, banning the strikes of the employees under Govt. and Public sector and urged the UNI to take up the matter with Govt.of India through ILO for necessary amendments in Constitution. Mr. Joseph De Bruyn and Mr. Christopher intimated that UNI has already taken up this matter through Public Services International and assured that they will take up this matter in the world body of UNI to pressurise Govt.of India through various Governments as well as through the UNI members in the International Labour Organisation as this verdict is against the ILO conventions.

The meeting has elected the following office bearers for 3 year term.
President: Mr.Milind Nadkarni, Gen.Secretary, All India Bank of Baroda Employees Federation.
Deputy President: Mr.Krishna Rao, National Union of Postal Employees.
General Secretary: Mr.Thomas John, World Executive Board Member of UNI and President, National Union of BSNL Workers(FNTO).
Assistant General Secreatry: 1.Mr.Anilkumar S., GS, ARTEE; 2..Mr.Padmanabhan, President, Professional, Managerial & Commercial Employees Federation; 3.Mr.Roopchand, Secretary, All India Newspaper Employees Federation.
Treasurer: Mr.C.S.R.Prasad, Information Technology Professionals Forum.
Assistant Treasurer: Mr.Kapooria, Joint Secretary, FCI Employees Federation.
Internal Auditors: 1.Mr. Milind Joshi, VP(WZ), ARTEE. 2.Mr. Prithvi Raj, All India LIC Employees Federation.
Presidents of 6 (Six) sectors, to be elected in the respective sector meetings, will be the Vice-Presidents to UNI-ILC.